Observing whatever tickles my fancy

In January Ancestry.com uploaded baptismal, marriage, and burial records from Württemberg, Germany.  I discovered this in February.  Since then I have been in a mad dash to find anything about my Württemberg great-great grandmother and her kin. I found her and started digging my way to find her parents, grandparents, etc.  Now I’m stuck on one of those branches, unable to find my way through the twisting vines.

Below is a record of interest.  It was found in the baptismal section of the records but was written differently than the rest.  My problem: I don’t read or speak modern-day German, let alone attempting to read Gothic German script.

jacob leonhard steinle birth record 1749 not like others (3)

I’ve Googled my way to translation sites, found sites with sample script, and still can’t make out many of the squiggly letters.  I can make out the names…obviously….and I discovered that Jacob was a wine gardener (farmer).  (Still trying to figure out how you “grow” wine.)  I really want to know what this says.  I think the word “fever” is in there and for some reason I’m thinking the last word on the second line translates to “Bubonic”.  With that word in mind my brain goes into wild imaginings of family dying from the plague (“Bring out your dead”) and somehow a kid was born in the middle of it all.

Jacob, my ancestor, you are a frustration.

Comments on: "Help Needed: Translating Gothic German Script" (4)

  1. TallTalesandTrue said:

    The German script is a challenge – every time I think I’m getting the hang of it, the next record I try to read stumps me. When I try to enlarge your picture of it, the quality deteriorates. Are you able to give the record details, so the image can be viewed on Ancestry?

    • Hey TallTalesandTrue – thanks for understanding the difficulty of German script. Some of the handwriting is clear and crisp and a few decades later (or previous) it’s hand-cramped scribbles, like this record.

      The name on Ancestry is Johannes Stricker. Birth: 14 July 1749. Father: Johann Leonhardt Stricker. Place: Besigheim, Lauffen, Neckar u Oa, Wurttemberg.

      Note: I read the name as Steinle but whoever transcribed the name wrote Stricker. Don’t know which of us is correct.

      Thanks for trying to help.

  2. TallTalesandTrue said:

    Hi, the Stricker index record refers to the record above the one you’re interested in. The index record for the one in your post is:
    Name: Steinlin
    Gender: männlich (Male)
    Event Type: Taufe (Baptism)
    Baptism Date: 17 Jul 1749
    Baptism Place: Besigheim, Lauffen, Neckar u. Oa, Württemberg (Baden-Württemberg), Deutschland (Germany)
    Father: Jacob Steinlin
    Mother: Magdalena Klutherin
    Page Number: 117
    Custodian: Evangelisches Landeskirchenamt, Stuttgart, Deutschland

    My best guess is:

    Ad? 1749. den 17. Julij ist Jacob Steinlin Weingärtner von seinen Weib Magdalena ? gebohren Klütherin? zwisch? 10 – 11 uhr ein Knäbl: ? ? gebohren warde? ? ? ? junglicher schw? von ?Erbau ? ? ? getauft um 12 uhr war? verstorben? u. folgend tag ? begraben? ?

    A son born between 10 and 11 o’clock on the 17th of July, 1749, to Jacob Steinlin, Wine maker, by his wife Magalena ? born Klütherin?. I think it’s saying the baby was born with problems and died at 12 o’clock. I can’t decipher enough of the chook scratchings to know if it’s saying the baby was christened or there wasn’t time to christen it before it died. Assuming I’m deciphering it properly, it looks like the baby was buried the following day. I can’t see anything about bubonic plague, but If it were a plague victim, I’d expect a lot of deaths in the village.

    I wish I could be of more help with deciphering this record, but hopefully someone who can read this script easily will see your post and help out.

Leave a Reply

